Winners of the Network, Volunteer and Influencer of the Year awards

Congratulations to the three winners of our new recognition awards, which we’re announced and presented at the CSP AGM this week.

Recognition awards 1200 x 675

Earlier this year, we launched a new category of recognition awards to help celebrate the work of some of our most active influencers, volunteers and community builders.

After receiving fifty different nominees across three categories, the judging panel had a tough but rewarding time picking the winners and awarding commendations and settling on their final choices for the three deserving winners.

CSP assistant director Rob Ledger, who acted as chair of the judging panel, said:

We were thrilled to read so many nominations celebrating the amazing things members and other physiotherapy advocates are achieving on behalf of physiotherapy

The overall winners and the highly commended and commended nominees for each category are listed below:

Influencer of the year

Winner – Karen Poole (East Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust)

Karen Poole
Karen Poole

Karen is well known amongst many members for her work to transform her local community rehabilitation services, while gaining national recognition for her achievements.

Her nomination as influencer of the year recognises the steps Karen has taken to share that learning, inspiring and supporting members nationally to follow her lead in driving positive change.

She has published video diaries and presented at CSP in-person and online events to make sure the membership benefits from her experience.

Her influence has led to her local Sussex integrated care board adopting a dedicated rehabilitation strategyand being on track to meet many of the recommendations set out by the Community Rehabilitation Best Practice Standards.

Also shortlisted:

Highly commended

  • Indeg Jameson (Carmarthenshire community lead)


  • Hilary Hall (Dorset ICS AHP lead)
  • Jessie Frost (Chief Sustainability Officers’ clinical fellow)
  • Dr Julie Jones (Robert Gordon University)
  • The Baroness Wheeler MBE (House of Lords Peer)

Volunteer of the year

Winner – Iona Bateman (CSP DisAbility Network)

Disability History Month
Iona Bateman

Iona’s nomination celebrates her work to promote diversity in the profession and the removal of barriers to participation, particularly as they relate to students.

She brings the student voice to her multiple CSP roles as part of the DisAbility Network, the professional committee, the ARC agenda committee, and the South Central Regional Network team.

Iona’s work to reduce barriers for others with disabilities has led to her speaking at the TUC Disabled Workers Conference and the CSP Annual Representative Conference. She is an active promoter of CSP membership, whether explaining to new students how it has supported and nurtured her as a leader or featuring in our ‘We are the CSP’ campaign video, about the value of our collective community.

Also shortlisted:

Highly commended

  • Robert Minter (CSP Yorkshire and Humber Regional Network)


  • Sam Bhide (London FCP Network)
  • Bernie McGreevy (CSP Northern Ireland Board)
  • Helen Robson (CSP North East Regional Network)
  • Zoe Smith (CSP South East Coast Regional Network)

Network of the year

Winner – CSP North East Regional Network

Angel of the North

Nominations for the CSP North East Regional Network team praised their collaborative and inclusive approach to member engagement, working with other CSP networks and professions to deliver high-quality events with both a regional focus and national interest.

Their co-developed events, for example with the Royal College of Occupational Therapists, have helped members to understand different perspectives and identify areas for joined-up working locally.

The core team’s steps to improve its own diversity, while supporting regional members to gain confidence building belonging, were recognised, as was the team’s efforts to create safe spaces for inclusive discussion.

Also shortlisted:

Highly commended


How to get more involved yourself

If you’d like to find out more about volunteering, or supporting physiotherapy, see our Get Involved section.

Other opportunities to recognise CSP members

As well as the new recognition awards, we also run other annual schemes to thank and recognise members for their work, including ‘CSP Rep of the Year’ and the ‘CSP professional awards’.

Watch out for announcements on when these are open for nominations.

In 2024, we’ll also be introducing a commendation scheme, where you can thank your peers for their effort and achievements, at any point in the year.

Number of subscribers: 2

Log in to comment and read comments that have been added