Professional awards

The CSP gives awards every year including Fellowships, Honorary Fellowships and Distinguished Service Awards. These acknowledge the contribution made by members, and notable non-members, to advancing the profession through their outstanding contribution to and impact on physiotherapy practice.

Applications and/or nominations for our Professional Awards will open in early January 2024 with a new process. Please email with any questions.

We will use the information provided for the purpose of processing the application/nomination for an Award. For further details on how the CSP uses and manages data, please see our privacy policy.

Fellowships and Honorary Fellowships

a CSP fellowship badge

Fellowships are awarded to CSP Members (those entitled to use the post-nominals MCSP) who are either practising or retired physiotherapists.

Honorary Fellowships are awarded to our other membership groups, including associates, support workers and students. Honorary Fellowships may also be awarded to non-members of the CSP.

a CSP Distinguished Service Award badge

Distinguished Service Awards

Distinguished Service Awards are awarded to any member who has contributed outstanding service to the CSP or excellence in an area of service to the benefit of others.

Buckingham Palace

National Honours

National honours range from a Knighthood to a CBE, OBE or MBE, and are awarded twice a year by the Cabinet Office of the UK Government to individuals reaching the required standard of merit or service.

an image of a scroll to depict CSP's roll of honour

The Roll of Honour

The CSP's Roll of Honour lists the name and date of award of all those known to have received an honour since 1948. 


Professional awards panel

The panel acts under delegated authority from the CSP Council. It judges applications/nominations for awards against set criteria and makes recommendations for awards to Council.

Last reviewed: