Excellence of Powys physios recognised by awards

Powys Teaching Health Board’s staff excellence awards for innovation and for young employee of 2018 went to two CSP members – Anna Belotti and Alys Reynolds, respectively.


Reflective of great work: physiotherapists Anna Belotti and Alys Reynolds with their awards

Community physiotherapist Anna Belotti won in the ‘innovation and leading the way’ category at the Welsh board’s annual awards, held on 9 March at the Royal Welsh Showground, Llanelwedd. She had been nominated by head of therapies Vic Deakins.

Claire Preece, professional head of physiotherapy at Powys, described Ms Belotti as caring, respectful, kind and someone who always went the extra mile for patients and delivered a seamless service.

‘Anna is instrumental in delivering robust community services across the north locality of Powys Teaching Health Board, and thinks outside the box to consider different ways of working across therapies,’ she said.

The winner of the young employee award, rotational physiotherapist Ms Reynolds, was nominated by Ms Preece, respiratory specialist physiotherapist Helen Hathaway and team lead Jennifer Ellis.

‘Alys was nominated for embracing the opportunity to develop her own skills,’ said Ms Preece.

‘She has shown commitment to being the physiotherapy lead for falls and developing a revised multidisciplinary falls programme called Confident Strides.

‘Alys is also a member of the Welsh CSP Board, recognises the wider work within the profession and brings this back to the workplace.’

Other physio nominees

Physiotherapists were well represented among this year’s almost 200 nominations. They included Ellen Davies, Marian Morris, Andrew Colwill, Helen Hathaway and Jennifer Ellis, and all physiotherapy support staff as a group, for ‘making a difference’.

Jennifer Ellis, Heather Maling and the Welshpool Rehabilitation Team were nominated for the health and wellbeing award. Claire Preece, Barbara Gamman, Ruth Walker, Mohottige Somadasa and Teresa Tite were nominated in the ‘supportive colleague’ category.

Katelyn Falvey and Lyn Doherty were nominated for an innovation and leading the way award.

In addition, three physiotherapy teams – from Machynlleth, Llanidloes and Ystradgynlais hospitals – were in the running for the team of the year award.

The moving on after stroke programme at Newtown Hospital was nominated for the seamlessly working together award.

‘I am extremely proud to see a large number of nominations within the physiotherapy service,’ said Ms Preece.

‘This is reflective of all the great work that happens, not only on an individual basis, but also across teams as they pull together to deliver the best service possible.’


Number of subscribers: 0

Log in to comment and read comments that have been added