Council elections 2024

Find out how to apply to become a Council member in our 2024 elections.

The nominations process runs from 18 March to 13 May 2024.

CSP Council seats up for election in 2024

Our Council is elected by a postal ballot of all members held under the Single Transferable Vote system (STV). 

The CSP Council elections are administered by Civica Election Services Limited. They act as independent scrutineers of the nomination and ballot process as required for Trade Union ballots, which is set out in the Trade Union and Labour Relations (Consolidation) Act 1992 (TULRCA).

Join our webinar!

CSP members can join an informal webinar on Wednesday 17 April at 6pm,  to find out more about what it is like to sit on council and ask questions about the role and/or the elections process. 

Webinar participants are anonymous to each other and can post questions anonymously throughout the session.


The nominations process opens on Monday 18 March 2024 and closes at 5pm on Monday 13 May 2024.

To apply, you should complete an online nominations application which will ask for:

  • The full name, CSP membership number and email address of six proposers who are CSP members to support your application. Proposers will be notified via email by Civica Election Services Limited that they have been listed as a proposer.
  • A 350-word election address to demonstrate how your skills and experience meet each of the criteria listed in the council member role profile and make you the right person to represent your profession as a CSP council member. This will be published on the Civica Election Services Limited website and posted to the whole membership to inform their vote.

Candidates will then canvass support for their nomination from among the CSP membership. Please reach out to a current council member for advice and tips on doing this and read through both the guidelines on canvassing during the election and social media guidance for members.

Election (voting by post only)

The election process opens on Monday 3 June 2024 and closes at 5pm on Monday 1 July 2024.

All CSP members will be sent an election pack by post. This will contain the candidates' election addresses, a ballot paper and a pre-paid return envelope for casting your vote.

During the voting period we will also publish the candidates' election addresses via Civica Election Services Limited.

Please note: trade unions are required by law to run postal ballots for all statutory ballots and elections at no personal cost to members. Therefore, a pre-paid envelope is included for casting your vote. Online voting cannot be facilitated.

Declaration of results

The results of the election will be announced to members on Monday 8 July 2024.

Should I put myself forward for CSP Council?

If you're not sure whether to put yourself forward, the following pages can help you to decide. We hope you choose to apply!

If you would like to discuss any aspect of the process to help you in your decision-making please contact the governance team.

Last reviewed: