Two CSP members receive professional awards in recognition of the impact of their incredible work

CSP has awarded Dr Jenny Tinkler with a Distinguished Service Award and Catherine Pope with a CSP Fellowship.

Dr Jenny Tinkler MCSP

Dr Jenny Tinkler

Dr Jenny Tinkler has been awarded a Distinguished Service Award in recognition of over 40 years outstanding service to the field of Learning Disability (LD) and for her vast contributions to the Association of Chartered Physiotherapists for People with Learning Disabilities (ACPPLD).

During her career, Jenny has played a key role in promoting the speciality of LD across the wider profession, influencing the quality of physiotherapy delivered for people with learning disabilities. Her work has made a significant impact at a multidisciplinary clinical and service delivery level, especially in relation to postural management for people with profound and multiple learning disability (PMLD).

Jenny has also been an active ACPPLD member since the late 1980's, initially on a regional committee and then on the National Executive Committee since 2003, serving as Chair of the committee since 2011.

Her leadership, enthusiasm, motivation, clinical acumen and kindness have inspired an entire generation of learning disability physiotherapists. She has raised the profile of the specialism of LD across many sectors, in particular, through her leadership of the ‘So your next patient has a Learning Disability’ campaign to support physiotherapists in all specialities.

Jenny has dedicated her career to improving the lives of adults with PMLD, and has a particular interest in 24-hour postural management. Through research and clinical practice, she has demonstrated the importance of 24-hour postural management in maintaining body symmetry in people with PMLD and the positive impact this has on their lives.

She has also delivered numerous training sessions to physiotherapy and nursing undergraduates, health and social care staff in day and residential services and private organisations.

In the early 2000’s Jenny completed a Masters in Advancing Practice which led to the development of a unique Postural Management Service in her Trust in the North East of England, for which she won a highly commended award for service improvement.

The posture management service is still running today, which is testament to her tireless efforts to advocate on behalf of people with PMLD and to ensure sustainability of service delivery. The success of the service has encouraged physiotherapists and occupational therapists to explore options for developing similar services in their geographical areas.

Jenny’s professional doctorate research developed a national best practice framework and recommendations for physiotherapists to deliver 24-hour postural management for adults with PMLD. She has delivered workshops to share learning and explore how LD physiotherapists across the UK could implement her findings into their local practices.

Catherine Pope MCSP


The CSP has awarded a Fellowship to Catherine Pope for her outstanding strategic and inclusive leadership of physiotherapy and allied health professionals at local, regional, national and international levels.

Catherine has made a substantial and sustained contribution to raising the profile of physiotherapy in mental health, influencing clinical and policy agendas. She is passionate about integrating mental and physical approaches for people with mental health problems and has made an enormous impact in driving cross-organisational service improvements in physical and mental health services.

As Chair of the CSP Council from 2015-18, she instigated and led a major review of the CSP’s governance arrangements. The new governance structure was implemented in April 2018, resulting in a much more streamlined and accountable Council and committee structure, impacting how the whole profession is governed and led.

Catherine has also held leading roles in the Chartered Physiotherapists in Mental Health (CPMH) professional network for over twenty years, including Chair from 2001 to 2004.

She led a national campaign to promote and safeguard the role of physiotherapists within mental health. This resulted in the inclusion of physiotherapy within Department of Health policy documents and on national mental health advisory committees.

In addition, Catherine sat on the Department of Health Mental Health Allied Health Professions Advisory Group. As President for CPMH she represented the UK at the launch of the International Organisation of Physical Therapists in Mental Health, a subgroup of World Physiotherapy, developing the role of physiotherapists in mental health internationally.

In various roles within the CSP, Catherine demonstrated outstanding leadership. She led the development of a CSP publication about commissioning mental health services and demonstrating the contribution of physiotherapy to integrated services for health and wellbeing.

In 2011/12 she led the review of CSP Standards of Physiotherapy Practice. And in a regional representative role she developed a physiotherapy mentorship programme to facilitate leadership development. This was then extended to other health care professionals in collaboration with East Midlands Leadership Academy.

Since 2018, Catherine has been Chair of the CSP Pension Trustees,a role that has required leadership and facilitation of some difficult choices during a very challenging economic climate for pensions.

She also has a journal publication about integrating mental and physical approaches which has also underpinned CSP national guidance, Recovering Mind and Body: a framework for the role of physiotherapy in mental health and wellbeing.

Catherine was the AHP Director for Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust for ten years. During this time, some of her key achievements in the role included the development of an AHP Strategy, three AHP consultant posts and four AHP independent prescribers and an IT-based Outcome Measures Framework for AHPs.

She also led the development and reorganisation of care pathways for older people, which are inclusive of people with dementia and a service specifically for people of working age with dementia, creating increased employment opportunities.

Submit a nomination for a CSP professional award

The CSP presents a selection of professional awards each year, which fall into three categories: Fellowships, Honorary Fellowships and Distinguished Service Awards.  

These awards are designed to acknowledge and honour members of the CSP, and also some non-members. Individuals who receive the awards have either rendered distinguished service to the advancement of physiotherapy, or have contributed outstanding service to the Society or excellence in an area of service to the benefit of others. Anyone meeting these criteria is eligible for nomination.

The next submission deadline for the Professional Awards is 31 May 2023.

Click here to find out more about the awards and to learn how you can submit a nomination.


Number of subscribers: 3

Log in to comment and read comments that have been added