#Physio17: CSP announces award winners for 2017

Nine CSP members received CSP fellowships and distinguished service awards this year. 


New CSP fellows (left to right): Elizabeth Hancock, Jonathan Marsden, Mhairi Brandon, Beverley Harden, Sarah Mitchell. Photo: Simon Hadley

These were presented at the CSP’s annual dinner, held at Birmingham’s Botanical Gardens on the opening night of conference.

CSP fellowships went to:

  • Mhairi Brandon for raising the profile of physiotherapy in the field of MSK diagnostic/dynamic ultrasound within the field of rheumatology
  • Bridget Davis for her work with the Members Benevolent Fund and advancing the profession in the fields of amputee rehabilitation and hydrotherapy
  • Elizabeth Hancock for the development of the profession in Scotland through her leadership of the Scottish Board and her innovation in physiotherapy education
  • Beverley Harden for her contribution to the profession through her leadership, service innovation, workforce demand and capacity planning and education in the field of acute respiratory care
  • Jonathan Marsden for his contribution to physiotherapy research and education within the field of neurology
  • Sarah Mitchell for her outstanding contribution to the development of the profession through her national leadership, transforming service delivery and raising professional profile in Scotland and beyond

Distinguished Service Awards went to: 

  • Judith Lee for her contribution to the Pelvic, Obstetric and Gynaecological Physiotherapists (POGP) professional network
  • Melrose Stewart for her major and sustained contribution to diversity awareness
  • Victoria Johnston for her contribution to AGILE professional network and the profession, through her leadership and promotion of evidence-based physiotherapy for older people

Robert Williams Awards

Funded by the CSP Charitable Trust, these awards provided a total of £10,000 to help members of the CSP present papers at the World Confederation for Physical Therapy Congress in South Africa earlier this year.

They were awarded to:

  • Peter Skelton integrating rehabilitation into the WHO Emergency Medical Team System: the experience of the UK Emergency Medical Team
  • Owen Gustafson shoulder dysfunction in intensive care survivors: an investigation into prevalence, risk factors and impact on upper limb function
  • Anne O’Brien current physiotherapy practice and assessment in polymyalgia rheumatica: a UK cross-sectional survey
  • Sean Ledger INSPIRE-CF: a randomised trial evaluating the longitudinal effects of a weekly supervised exercise programme on children with cystic fibrosis
  • Rachel Mandel hip precautions after primary total hip arthroplasty
  • Cynthia Srikesavan implementation of the Strengthening and Stretching for Rheumatoid Arthritis of the Hand (SARAH) exercise programme for rheumatoid arthritis
  • Suzanne Gough integrating pedagogical and educational frameworks to enhance the quality of emergency on-call training in physiotherapy

Number of subscribers: 0

Log in to comment and read comments that have been added