CSP announces 2019 award winners

Ten people were honoured with CSP fellowships and distinguished service awards this year, and their accolades were presented on the opening night of Physiotherapy UK 2019.


Fellowships recognise members whose work has developed research, clinical practice and extended the evidence base for physiotherapy. They were awarded to:

Dr Rhoda Allison – for her significant contribution to the advancement of physiotherapy in stroke neurological rehabilitation, and spasticity management, through her expert clinical practice, professional leadership, research and education of others.

Professor David Baxter – for his outstanding contribution to international physiotherapy research and, in particular, research capacity development in the profession nationally and internationally.

Laura Finucane – for her outstanding contribution to the advancement of clinical practice, education and research in the field of ‘red flags’ relating to serious pathology of the spine. In addition, her leadership, education and development of advanced practice in MSK disorders in the UK and internationally.

Amanda Hensman-Crook – for her sustained commitment to advancing physiotherapy through service transformation and innovation that has resulted in the widespread adoption of the first contact practitioner role in primary care for people with MSK disorders.

Neil Langridge PhD – for his leadership and outstanding contribution to the advancement of the physiotherapy profession through the establishment of first contact MSK physiotherapists in UK primary care.

Chris Mercer – for his contribution to the advancement of the profession through his leadership, clinical practice, education and research, most notably in the field of MSK physiotherapy.

Elaine Miller – for her substantive and innovative contribution to health promotion and advancing the knowledge and understanding of the importance of pelvic health to the general public, including hard to reach communities.

Distinguished service awards, which recognise outstanding commitment in practice, research, education and management, were made to:

Paul Chapman – for his work developing innovative IT solutions in physiotherapy and for recent work leading AHP return to practice.

Phil Hulse – for his tireless commitment to and advocacy for the profession in his role as regional steward, Council member for West Midlands, and as vice chair of Council.

Dr Jane Morris – for her leadership and sustained commitment to physiotherapy education and particularly to practice-based education.

Number of subscribers: 1

Log in to comment and read comments that have been added