‘Advancing healthcare’ judges shortlist physios for awards

Physios are among the finalists for the 2016 Advancing Healthcare awards, sponsored by all four UK governments and organisations including Public Health England.


Some of physiotherapy’s innovators and rising stars are on the Advancing Healthcare awards shortlist

Out of 150 entries, the physiotherapy staff who have made it onto the shortlist are

Welsh government prudently advancing practice award

  • Robert Caine, advanced practitioner physiotherapist in primary care, and Cathy Wynne, assistant clinical lead, at Betsi Cadwaladr Health Board
  •  Amy Thomas, physiotherapist and acting team leader, and Emma Cooke, head of physiotherapy, at Cardiff and Vale Health Board

Chamberlain Dunn learning rising star award

  • Lauren Minion, physiotherapist, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Rachel Rountree, falls coordinator, Southern Health and Social Care Trust
  • Helen Owen, physiotherapist, @WeAHPs
  • Maria Kozlowski, physiotherapist, Derbyshire Community Health Services NHS Trust

Chief allied health professions officer’s award for entrepreneurship

  • Lucy Cassidy, extended scope physiotherapist, Brighton and Sussex University Hospital NHS Trust

Scottish Government award for improving quality: measuring and demonstrating impact

  • Christine McArthur, coordinator, prevention and management of falls, and Lynne Siddiqui, lead community physiotherapist, at NHS Highland
  • Karen Duncan, highly specialist physiotherapist, NHS Grampian

Northern Ireland’s maximising resources for success

  • Jane Holt, physiotherapy team lead and Elaine Hill, AHP senior manager, at NHS Ayrshire and Arran

Macmillan award for leadership and innovation in cancer rehabilitation

  • Karen Robb, physiotherapist and rehabilitation lead at transforming cancer services programme, London

Outstanding achievement award for an allied health professional or healthcare science support worker

  • Sandwell admission avoidance service, 19 rehabilitation support workers

The winners will be announced on 15 April.

Number of subscribers: 0

Log in to comment and read comments that have been added