Physio shines in AHP lifetime achievement awards for Wales

Pip Ford has won the allied health professionals lifetime achievement award at the first Advancing Healthcare Awards Wales.


Lifetime achievement award winner for Wales Pip Ford. Photo: Jenny Francis

Physiotherapist Ms Ford recently retired as the CSP’s policy manager for Wales after 20 years. Previously she was a physio in the NHS for 14 years.

The judges said that her enduring energy, compassion, commitment and enthusiasm was remarkable.

‘From politicians to carers across all sectors, Pip is warmly regarded and known for her passion and advocacy for people and high quality care, making her a very deserving winner of our lifetime achievement award.’

Pip Ford, centre, with other winners and judges at the inaugural 2019 Cymru Advancing healthcare awards on 26 November. Photo: John Behets

Read more about Ms Ford’s work for the physiotherapy profession

On Twitter, CSP chief executive Karen Middleton said: ‘How brilliant is this!? Congratulations Pip, so well deserved.’

Former CSP Council chair Sue Rees added: ‘I can’t think of anyone more deserving, or who has made a greater contribution. Pip, you’ve inspired, supported and led the way for so many physios, AHPs and many, many others.’

Ms Ford was also a finalist for the allied health professional of the year award.

Support worker

Joint winner of the award for support staff member of the year was physiotherapy technician Hannah Carpenter.

Hannah Carpenter, second from right. Photo: John Behets

The Cardiff and Vale University Health Board staff member strives to motivate and encourage patients to reach their goals no matter how challenging they seem, judges said.

Cardiff and Vale assistant director of therapies Alun Morgan said on Twitter: ‘This is thoroughly deserved and she is a true role model for our profession.’

The awards were open to allied health professionals, healthcare scientists and pharmacists in Wales and are part of the UK-wide advancing healthcare awards programme, now in its 15th year and open for entries until 8 January 2020. The awards are organised by Chamberlain Dunn.


Number of subscribers: 2

Log in to comment and read comments that have been added