New members of CSP Council announced

Congratulations to the six successful candidates elected to council.

New Council members 2022
Katherine Ashmore, Jack Chew, Gillian Rawlinson, Srikesavan Sabapathy, Kelly Walker and Sylvia Wojciechowski

The newly elected members of the CSP Council are Katherine Ashmore, Jack Chew, Gillian Rawlinson, Srikesavan Sabapathy, Kelly Walker and Sylvia Wojciechowski.

They will take up their role from the 2022 annual general meeting in November.

A total of 13 members nominated themselves to stand for the six council places. Voting took place in June with 7 per cent of CSP members voting.

Chair of council, Alex MacKenzie, said, ‘I am delighted to welcome the new council members from what was a strong field of candidates.

‘It is great to have such a range of people with different experience of our profession to serve on council. I look forward to working with them all.’

The elected members join six of the current council members whose term continues after the November AGM: Leanne Antoine, Ishmael Beckford, Justine Croxton, Reshma Patel, Gemma Scott and Alexandra Spearritt.

Election procedure

Council elections are open to all fully subscribing CSP members, who are eligible to run (as detailed in the CSP’s Byelaws) as long as they adhere to the Election Regulations and Canvassing Guidelines.

The nominations and ballot process is run entirely independently from the CSP.

The CSP Council was elected by a postal ballot of all members held under the single transferable vote system (STV). 

CSP head of governance, Kirsty Semple, thanked members who took part in the voting. ‘We’re grateful to all the members who took part in voting for this year’s elections to council.

‘While turnout was similar to 2021 and is much lower than we would like – we recognise that there continue to be unprecedented demands on the time of members, alongside our need to work within trade union legislation which requires that these elections take place through postal voting.

‘We are keen to engage more members to participate in the voting in the future and will continue to explore ways to achieve this.’

If you have any queries about the nomination and ballot process please contact the CSP Governance Team.

Administration of CSP Council elections

The CSP Council elections were administered by Civica Election Services Limited, who acted as independent scrutineers of the nomination and ballot process as required for trade union ballots, and set out in the Trade Union and Labour Relations (Consolidation) Act 1992 (TULRCA).

Civica Election Services Ltd’s Report of Council Election Voting 2022 can be found here.

Number of subscribers: 3

Log in to comment and read comments that have been added