Council elections 2022

Find out how to apply to become a Council member in our 2022 elections.

The nominations process runs from 21 March to 16 May 2022.


Our Council is elected by a postal ballot of all members held under the Single Transferable Vote system (STV). 

The CSP Council elections are administered by Civica Election Services Limited. They act as independent scrutineers of the nomination and ballot process as required for Trade Union ballots, which is set out in the Trade Union and Labour Relations (Consolidation) Act 1992 (TULRCA).


The nominations process opens on Monday 21 March 2022 and closes at 5pm on Monday 16 May 2022.

To apply, you should complete an online nominations application which will ask for:

  • The full name, CSP membership number and email address of six proposers who are CSP members to support your application. Proposers will be notified via email by Civica Election Services Limited that they have been listed as a proposer.
  • A 350-word election address to demonstrate how your skills and experience meet each of the criteria listed in the person specification and make you the right person to represent your profession as a CSP Council member. This will be published on the Civica Election Services Limited website and posted to the whole membership to inform their vote.

Candidates will then canvass support for their nomination from among the CSP membership. Please reach out to a current Council member for advice and tips on doing this and read through both the guidelines on canvassing during the election and social media guidance for members.

Election (voting by post only)

The election process opens on Monday 6 June 2022 and closes at 5pm on Monday 27 June 2022.

All CSP members will be sent an election pack by post. This will contain the candidates' election addresses, a ballot paper and a pre-paid return envelope for casting your vote.

During the voting period we will also publish the candidates' election addresses on the Civica Election Services Limited site.

Please note: trade unions are required by law to run postal ballots for all statutory ballots and elections at no personal cost to members. Therefore, a pre-paid envelope is included for casting your vote. Online voting cannot be facilitated.

Declaration of results

Results of the election will be announced to members on Monday 4 July 2022.

Should I put myself forward?

If you're not sure whether to put yourself forward, the following pages can help you to decide. We hope you choose to apply!

If you would like to discuss any aspect of the process to help you in your decision-making please contact the governance team.

A message from the Chair of Council

Alex MacKenzie, chair of council
Alex MacKenzie, Chair of Council

Alex MacKenzie, Chair, clinical lead in acute physiotherapy at NHS Grampian

'I stood for Council to see through the changes to the governance structures. I was chair of the review group and was keen to see the implementation of the ideas that members had agreed.

'My highlight has been the implementation of those changes and the cultural change that went with them. Each Council member is representing the whole profession, all have gone out of their way to talk with and understand groups and members not from their sphere of physiotherapy, and we’ve been to at least one Country Board meeting.

'With the 2020 strategy, we consulted the whole membership before agreeing the final outcome. I believe this will make the CSP stronger going forward as it brings the whole profession front and centre of decisions.'

Tips for securing proposers and canvassing support for votes

Alex offers some tips for finding proposers and how to go about canvassing.

Last reviewed: