Physiotherapist and CSP staff member is elected as member of parliament

Physiotherapist Ruth Jones, the CSP’s senior negotiating officer for Wales and part of West Midlands, was elected to parliament as the Labour MP for Newport West in a by-election on 4 April. 

Newly elected MP for Newport West, physiotherapist Ruth Jones

Alongside Rachael Maskell, MP for York Central, she is the second physiotherapist currently sitting in parliament.

She was sworn in at the House of Commons on 8 April, saying afterwards: ‘I am deeply honoured and humbled to be sworn in as the Member of Parliament for Newport West.’

And adding that she is ‘incredibly grateful for all for your kind words and messages of support.’

As Ms Jones has now taken up her seat in Westminster, she has resigned from her CSP role, and temporary cover is in place while a replacement is being recruited.

CSP chief executive Karen Middleton was among those congratulating the new MP. She said: ‘Many congratulations to Ruth. Sorry to lose you as a member of CSP staff but great to see two former physios as MPs now.’


Number of subscribers: 2

Log in to comment and read comments that have been added