Professional Awards Panel

The Professional Awards Panel consider nominations for the CSP awards of Honorary Fellowship, Fellowship and Distinguished Service.

Panel membership 

Anne Forster (FCSP) (Chair)

After 10 years as a clinical physiotherapist, Anne took up a new role with John Young, a consultant geriatrician, as a research physiotherapist in Bradford Hospitals. Over the next few years they were able to build up their research team. This successful unit is still based in Bradford Royal Infirmary, but has since become part of the University of Leeds. Anne was appointed Reader in Elderly Care and subsequently gained a personal Chair in Stroke Rehabilitation. Anne was clinical lead of the Yorkshire Stroke Research Network for 10 years.

Anne is now head of the Academic Unit of Ageing and Stroke Research, University of Leeds, and is a National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) senior investigator. The unit is a leading centre for applied health research in frailty, care home research and improving outcomes for people after stroke. The majority of the team's work is funded by the NIHR and undertakes mixed-methods research primarily focused on the development and evaluation of complex interventions. This includes undertaking two of the world’s largest stroke rehabilitation trials.

Anne was awarded a Fellowship of the CSP in 2011.

Augustine Aluko, Professional Awards Panel member
Augustine Aluko

Dr Augustine Aluko 

Augustine is a musculoskeletal physiotherapist and is a private practitioner and a first contact physiotherapist. He has worked with the NHS, private sector, and academia.

Augustine is also an active expert witness providing expert evidence in both criminal and civil proceedings, and he has an interest in both clinical and governance issues. He has an extensive background in implementing change, policy reviews and facilitating responses to ever-moving legislation and clinical guidance.

Karen Barker

Female headshot
Professor Karen Barker FCSP / OBE

Karen  is a Consultant Physiotherapist and Head of Therapy at the Nuffield Orthopaedic Centre, Oxford University Hospitals Foundation Trust.  She is a Professor of Physiotherapy at the Nuffield Department of Orthopaedics, Rheumatology and Musculoskeletal Sciences (NDORMS) at the University of Oxford.

Karen has developed clinical, managerial and research interests in orthopaedics and trauma and continues to actively work across these areas.

She has a research interest in bone health, particularly vertebral fragility fractures; her other research interests are in chronic pain, joint arthroplasty, qualitative research and the implementation of research findings into clinical practice.

In 2013 she was awarded a Fellowship of the Chartered Society of Physiotherapy and in 2020 an OBE in recognition of services to healthcare.

Vacancy (lay member)

Vacancy (CSP member)

Key documents

PAP committee meeting dates 

  • Monday 4 March 2024
  • Monday 8 July 2024
  • Monday 7 October 2024


Last reviewed: