Professional Awards Panel

The Professional Awards Panel consider nominations for the CSP awards of Honorary Fellowship, Fellowship and Distinguished Service.

Panel membership 2018-2022

Sonya Lam, Professional Awards Panel member
Sonya Lam

Sonya Lam (chair)

Sonya is an independent adviser with over 37 years of NHS experience and 19 years of multi-professional leadership at national, regional and health board levels. This includes strategic, operational and project development roles within two major teaching trusts and two special health boards in both England and Scotland. 

Sonya has been a registrant council member of the Health and Care Professions Council (HCPC) since 2014 and has been recently appointed as a non-executive director in NHS Borders with a specific remit for whistleblowing.

Sonya was appointed as the first Director of Allied Health Professions (AHPs) for NHS Education for Scotland (NES) in 2006, where she had a portfolio of responsibilities for nine professional groups regulated by the HCPC. 

Prior to her managerial and leadership posts, Sonya was a clinical specialist physiotherapist in respiratory care. She was awarded a Distinguished Service Award (DSA) from the Chartered Society of Physiotherapy in 2011.

Anne Forster, Professional Awards Panel member
Anne Forster

Anne Forster (FCSP)

After 10 years as a clinical physiotherapist, Anne took up a new role with John Young, a consultant geriatrician, as a research physiotherapist in Bradford Hospitals. Over the next few years they were able to build up their research team. This successful unit is still based in Bradford Royal Infirmary, but has since become part of the University of Leeds. Anne was appointed Reader in Elderly Care and subsequently gained a personal Chair in Stroke Rehabilitation. Anne was clinical lead of the Yorkshire Stroke Research Network for 10 years.

Anne is now head of the Academic Unit of Ageing and Stroke Research, University of Leeds, and is a National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) senior investigator. The unit is a leading centre for applied health research in frailty, care home research and improving outcomes for people after stroke. The majority of the team's work is funded by the NIHR and undertakes mixed-methods research primarily focused on the development and evaluation of complex interventions. This includes undertaking two of the world’s largest stroke rehabilitation trials.

Anne was awarded a Fellowship of the CSP in 2011.

Augustine Aluko, Professional Awards Panel member
Augustine Aluko

Dr Augustine Aluko 

Augustine is a musculoskeletal physiotherapist and is a private practitioner and a First Contact Physiotherapist. He has 36 years’ experience working extensively within the NHS, private sector, and academia.
Augustine is also an active expert witness providing expert evidence in both criminal and civil proceedings, and he has an interest in both clinical and governance issues. He has an extensive background in implementing change, policy reviews and facilitating response to ever-moving legislation and clinical guidance.

Alison Aries, Professional Awards Panel member
Alison Aries

Alison Aries

Ali works as a lecturer within the School of Allied Health Professions, Keele University, and as a clinical academic in the Royal Wolverhampton NHS Trust, with a remit of driving neurological rehabilitation. Ali has been chair of the Physiotherapy Research Society (PRS) since 2020. She has extensive experience working as a physiotherapist within the NHS in many different settings developing specialised neurological skills and leadership abilities.

Ali’s research interests lie predominantly in neurology, including, neuroplasticity and rehabilitation of stroke patients. As part of a prestigious NIHR clinical academic doctoral fellowship (completed between April 2015 and March 2018), Ali successfully developed standardised protocols and then set up and ran a mixed-methods, randomised, blinded feasibility study exploring sensory stimulation to the foot post-stroke. This study was published in Frontiers in Neurology-Stroke in July 2021. Ali completed her PhD in somatosensory stimulation to improve lower-limb recovery after stroke in 2020, and is currently undertaking an NIHR CRN Research Scholarship and recently completed a West Midlands Post-Doctoral Bridging Fellowship. These are facilitating Ali to move her research forward to help benefit stroke survivors in the future.

Catherine McLoughlin, Professional Awards Panel member
Catherine McLoughlin

Catherine McLoughlin (lay member)

Having completed general and mental health nursing training, Catherine practised as a mental health nurse specialising in child, adolescent and forensic psychiatry.

Catherine held many senior managerial posts including being CEO for Haringey Health Authority. Catherine’s last full-time post in the NHS was as deputy chief nursing officer for England. Catherine retired early following brain surgery.

Catherine returned to the NHS as chair of a health authority and a NHS Trust. Catherine was also the inaugural chair of the NHS Confederation. In 1998, Catherine was appointed CBE for services to the NHS.

Now Catherine is an associate director of Imperial College NHS Trust and undertakes similar activities for Bart’s Healthcare NHS Trust, which mainly involves chairing medical consultants appointments panels.

Catherine is involved in primary care network development and in cancer pathways at King’s College Hospital.

Last reviewed: