CSP Reps of the Year 2023

The CSP’s Annual Reps Conference 2023 was held this week in Manchester.

ARC 2023 dinner
Delegates at the Rep of the Year awards ceremony dinner. Photo: Lorne Campbell/Guzelian

The highlight of the conference was the Rep of the Year Awards, which took place on the first day of the event followed by a ceremony dinner.  The awards were presented by Baroness Finlay, CSP president, who praised the winners for their outstanding contributions to the profession. 

The Rep of the Year Awards is an annual event that recognises the hard work and dedication of our elected representatives, particularly those who have gone above and beyond in their roles.

The awards are given to stewards, safety reps and equality reps who have demonstrated exceptional leadership, communication, and organisational skills, and who have made a significant contribution to their members and the profession.

This was the first year that both steward of the year and safety rep of the year were won by associate members, with the winners demonstrating the fantastic opportunities our volunteer roles have given them.  

ARC 2023 awards Louise Wright
Steward of the Year winner Louise Wright, centre, with, left to right: Lindsey Greaves, from awards sponsors Thompsons Solicitors, CSP president Ilora Finlay and CSP Council chair Ishmael Beckford Photo: Lorne Campbell/Guzelian

Meet the winners 

Steward of the Year – Louise Wright,  Aneurin Bevan University Health Board
Runner up: Michael Mander,  Alder Hey Children's NHS Trust

Safety Rep of the Year – Sarah Mitchell, Swansea Bay University Health Board  
Runner up: Helen Ashcroft (Kelso),  Liverpool University Hospitals NHS Trust 

Rep Team of the Year – Helen Lewis and team, Leeds Teaching Hospital NHS Trust 
Runner up: University Hospital Southampton NHS Trust

Outstanding Contribution to Equality in the Workplace – Uroosa Mayet, University College London Hospitals NHS Trust 
Runner up: Jack Holroyde – Lewisham & Greenwich NHS Trust

Over the coming months Frontline will be running further articles featuring the winners and exploring why they were nominated. 

The judges would like to thank all those members who nominated their reps for an award.

If you’ve been inspired by our winners and would like to make a difference and stand as a CSP steward or safety rep contact us at jointheteam@csp.org.uk and visit our page about what you can do.

Other nominations


  • Alison Nadakavukaran
  • Alison Tardivel
  • Amanda Fraser-Gray
  • Christina Ryan
  • Claire Ellis
  • Claire Lindsay
  • Darren Freeman
  • Davina Lambie
  • Elizabeth Randall
  • Gillian Alexander
  • Hannah Barbour
  • Hayley Payne
  • Jack Pearce
  • Jade Clark
  • Joanna Staerck
  • Joseph Baker
  • Joseph Turton
  • Louise Wright
  • Mark Price
  • Megan Cooper
  • Natasha Wilkinson
  • Nicola Murphy
  • Rachel Stead
  • Robert Minter
  • Trupti Bhandari


Safety rep

  • Flora Charlton
  • Rachael Gyte


Workplace team


Outstanding contribution to equality in the workplace

  • Doreen Caesar
  • Rebecca Portwood



Number of subscribers: 2

Log in to comment and read comments that have been added