Keele University

Keele University is a research led, teaching University situated within beautiful campus grounds. There is a full range of social and sporting facilities provided by the students' union of which students take full advantage.

Keele has 13 academic Schools, and 7 Research Institutes grouped within 3 faculties of Health, Humanities & Social Sciences, and Natural Sciences. Educational activity is managed by Schools and research and related enterprise activity managed by Research Institutes.

About us

Health is an area of major growth and investment at Keele University. The new Schools of Medicine and of Pharmacy started taking undergraduates in 2002 and 2006 respectively. Together with existing programmes in Nursing, Midwifery, Physiotherapy and other health-related disciplines, the total number of clinical students at Keele will approach 2,000 by 2010. Postgraduate education and training in these disciplines is complemented by research activity that is focussed on clinical laboratory and community medicine within the Institutes of Science & Technology in Medicine and Primary Care & Health Sciences.

About the faculty

The two Research Institutes and four Schools that comprise the Faculty of Health are each based in new custom-built accommodation on the University campus and at the nearby teaching hospital, the University Hospital of North Staffordshire, which itself is undergoing major redevelopment. Close links with general hospitals in Shrewsbury and Stafford and the specialist orthopaedic hospital in Oswestry, together with the mental health and primary care NHS Trusts covering Stoke and North Staffordshire, ensure that students receive broad clinical experience during the course of their training.