The Chartered Society of Physiotherapy The Chartered Society of Physiotherapy


View your shopping cart.


CSP Council is the Society's elected governing body and is supported in its operation by other subordinate structures.

Council officers

Chair Catherine Pope

File 166344Catherine Pope is clinical director of specialist services and the associate director for allied health professionals at Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust. She is also president of the CSP's Chartered Physiotherapists in Mental Health network.

Read our news story: Catherine Pope elected CSP chair of council


Vice chair Philip Hulse

File 166326Philip Hulse is clinical team lead for MSK services at the Robert Jones and Agnes Hunt Orthopaedic Hospital in Oswestry.

He is also chair of the Communications Group and English Regional Forum, and has been vice chair of the National Group of Regional Stewards and the Industrial Relations Committee.

File 108266

Treasurer Sue England

Sue England works in private practice in Warwickshire. She has been a member of several CSP committees and working groups and has served on Council for many years.

All current members

New members

Dr Jackie Waterfield Educator representative
Dr Victoria Goodwin Researcher representative
Stuart Paterson Employed in independent practice
Claire Arditto NHS employed representative
Beverley Harden NHS employed representative
Katrina Kennedy NHS employed representative
Ruth Squire North West regional representative
Hayley Clarke Student representative (2015-16)



Teresa Ross Northern Ireland Board representative
Catherine Pope East Midlands region representative
Sharon Greensill Yorkshire and the Humber regional representative
Philip Hulse West Midlands regional representative
Carol Robinson North East regional representative
Catherine McLoughlin Lay member representative


Returning - up for election 2017

Dr Helena Johnson Educator representative
Sue England Employed in independent practice
Mary Dredge Otherwise employed member
Jill Barker NHS employed representative
Barbara Verrall NHS elected representative
Debbie Davies Welsh Board representative
Katie Wilkie Scottish Board representative
Heather Hunter South West regional representative
Jane Laidlaw South East Coastal regional representative
Cate Leighton South Central representative
Matthew Wyatt London regional representative
Rachael Machin Equality and Diversity representative

Council's role

CSP Council identifies and agrees CSP policy and strategy. The work of Council is supported by two standing committees (Industrial Relations; Practice and Development) as well as a number of sub-committees and working groups.

Country boards

The Society has three country boards for Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales. These each operate as a large committee, drawing their membership from a wide range of interested constituencies in their area. The prime function of the boards is to act as the first line of contact between Council, its committees and the membership. As all branches send at least one representative to board meetings, there is also a channel of communication with the entire membership at branch level.

English regional networks

There are 10 English Regional Networks. These are for all members in England – qualified, associates, students, retired members. Members in each region elect a representative on CSP Council through their regional network.

They also elect a core team who organises the activity of the regional network. The regional networks organise Forums for all members four times a year, as well as other training and study days. Members can also communicate with other members in their regional network through iCSP and receive a regular regional news bulletin.

English Regional Networks form an important part of the democratic structure of the society. They also enable members to link up with others, learn about new opportunities, catch up on CPD and support each other.

For more on the national and regional operation of the CSP, see the Nations & Regions section of this website.