

Committee: NORTHERN IRELAND BOARD ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Date: 29<sup>th</sup> January 2018, 2.00pm

Venue: Mitre Rehabilitation Unit, Musgrave Park Hospital

- 1. Present: Catherine Burke (Chair), Gillian Bingham, Stuart Kernaghan, Siobhan McAuley, Elaine McConnell, Fidelma Moran, Sean Moran, Katherine O'Neill, Fiona Talbot.
- 2. In attendance. CSP members: Paddy Donnelly, Jill Lynas, Frank Quinn. CSP staff: Hilary McErlean, Tom Sullivan.
- 3. Apologies and register of interests. Apologies were received from: Brian Beattie, Patricia Finlay, Emer Hopkins, Jennifer Howard, A Hutchinson, Wenda Love, Cathie McIlroy, Vicki Quinn, Jane Rankin, Alison Robinson and Teresa Ross. No interests were reported.
- 4. Minutes of the 2017 AGM.

The minutes of the AGM held on had been approved at the March 2017 Board meeting. There were no matters arising.

5. Reports: Chair and Treasurer

Chair's Report

Catherine Burke reported on the achievements of 2017 (see appendix A)

Board members noted the importance of motivating colleagues to vote in the upcoming council elections.

Treasurer's Report

Fidelma Moran presented the finance report for 2018 (see appendix B)

### 6. Adoption of Constitutional Amendments

The meeting considered changes that had been proposed by the short life working group. The proposed changes (to items 6 and 12) proposed were approved. Item 16 would be removed (as the post of Representative to Council no longer existed) and subsequent items would be re-numbered accordingly. (see appendix C) Changes to the role of treasurer would require further changes to the constitution. These changes would be brought to the March board meeting for approval.

# 7. Adoption of Changes to Board Finances and the Role of Treasurer

The proposal that Board finances be held centrally at the CSP was unanimously approved. (Proposed: Fidelma Moran, Seconded: Fiona Talbot).

It would no longer be necessary for the CSP NI Board to appoint an auditor as this would be organised by the CSP. The NI Board CSP Danske bank account (at Donegal Square West) will be closed and outstanding funds transferred to be held at the CSP London Lloyds bank account.

# 8. Election of Members

# (A) Trust Representatives

Siobhan McAuley remained as Belfast Trust representative and vice-chair

It was agreed that Aveen McCraith would be invited to join the Board as South Eastern Trust representative (proposed: Fiona Talbot, seconded: Gillian Bingham).

Cathie McIlroy remained as Southern Trust representative.

Vicki Quinn remained as Western Trust representative.

Sean Moran remained as Northern Trust representative.

# (B) Representatives from Other Workplaces

Patricia Finlay remained as private practice representative.

Catherine Burke remained as otherwise employed: public sector representative.

Fidelma Moran retired as University/Education representative.

It was unanimously agreed that Hilary Finlay (North West Independent Hospital) would be invited to join the Board. (proposed: Gillian Bingham, seconded: Catherine Burke).

### (C) Other members across the profession

Catherine Elliman remained as regional steward.

Wenda Love remained as regional safety representative.

Katherine O'Neill retired as research representative, and was replaced by Fiona Talbot as Consultant Hand Therapist.

Jane Rankin remained as ACPOPC representative.

Jennifer Howard remained as ACPRC representative.

It was proposed that Jill Lynas join the Board as AGILE representative (proposed: Siobhan McAuley, seconded: Fiona Talbot). This was unanimously agreed.

Alison Robinson remained as POGP representative.

Gillian Bingham remained as learning disability representative.

### (D) Associates

Stephanie Heasley remained as associate representative.

# (E) Student representative

Aisling Hutchinson remained as student representative. It was expected that Aisling would be replaced with a new representative from September 2018 onwards.

# (F) Learning champion or similar

Stuart Kernaghan remained as band 5 representative.

(Category (G) Board representative to Council would be removed.)

### (G) Co-opted members

Brian Beattie remained as strategic advisor (proposed: Elaine McConnell, seconded: Gillian Bingham).

Emer Hopkins remained as HSCB advisor (proposed: Siobhan McAuley, seconded: Fiona Talbot).

Teresa Ross was elected (subject to her agreement) as a co-opted member (proposed: Fiona Talbot, seconded: Siobhan McAuley).

Elaine McConnell was elected as a co-opted member (proposed: Sean Moran, seconded: Gillian Bingham).

Paul Rafferty retired from the Board.

Katherine O'Neill agreed to seek out a replacement c/o the research hub who may be co-opted to the Board at a later date.

### 9. Election of Treasurer

Gillian Bingham was unanimously elected as Treasurer (proposed: Siobhan McAuley, seconded: Elaine McConnell).

### 10. Any Other Business

Retiring board members were thanked for their service to the Board.

Katherine O'Neill provided an update on research matters (see Appendix D)

Tom Sullivan updated on recent meetings, including a meeting of the GP Federation and a Nuffield Trust Thinktank. Following discussion, Tom agreed to re-activate the primary care short life working group. Members of the group include: Brian Beattie, Elaine McConnell, Vicki Quinn and Teresa Ross. Paddy Donnolly indicated that he would be willing to contribute this group. Assuming agreement to join the Board, Aveen McCraith would also be invited to become a member of this group.

The AGM ended at 3.45pm.

A brief Board meeting followed, to discuss events planned for 2018.

Following discussion, the Board agreed to focus on the following three events.

- Event for Band 6/7 members/members moving into management. The short life working group would take forward plans for this event.
- Launch of CSP Rehab Matters video. The launch is planned for 21<sup>st</sup> March at 6.30pm in Parliament Buildings. The launch will be organised by the CSP and Clodagh Dunlop has agreed to be the main speaker. Catherine Burke agreed to compere the event. More information will be released as it becomes available.
- ISCP Conference. The 2018 conference will be held on 9<sup>th</sup> and 10<sup>th</sup> November in Sligo. Board will be working to encourage participation in this event from NI members. Possible focus on involvement from Band 5 members. AHP award nominees to be invited to submit posters to the conference.

The meeting ended at 4.15pm.

# CSP NI Board AGM 29th January 2018

# Actions:

- Board Chair to invite Aveen McCreeth to join as SE Trust representative.
- Board Chair to invite Hilary Finlay to join as representative from other workplace (independent sector).
- Board Chair to write to retiring members: Paul Rafferty, Fidelma Moran
- Katherine O'Neill to advise on possible replacement research representative.
- Tom Sullivan to re-activate the short life working group on primary care.