Student Contribution Awards

Recognise, reward and celebrate the hard work and dedication of CSP student members and physio societies by nominating them for a CSP Student Contribution Award!


The CSP Student Contribution awards recognise, reward and celebrate the hard work and dedication of CSP student members and physio societiesThere are two categories: 

  • individual student award
  • student society award 

Nominations for the 2021 Student Contribution Awards are now open until 9am on Monday 20 September 2021. The award winners will be announced on Monday 30 September.

The prizes

  • The winner of the Individual Award will receive two delegate passes to this year’s two-day virtual Physiotherapy UK conference on 5 and 6 November 2021 - so the winner can bring a friend to join them in the virtual conference world! (A cash prize will be awarded if the winner cannot attend the conference.)
  • The winning society will receive two delegate passes to the virtual Physiotherapy UK plus £50 for their society. (A cash prize will be awarded if society members cannot attend the conference.)

The nominees will be shortlisted by members of the CSP's Student Reference Group

Criteria and nomination forms

Individual student award

Do you know a CSP student (or associate student) member who, over the past academic year, has:

  • involved others
  • promoted the physiotherapy profession
  • contributed to student / apprentice life?

If so, nominate them for an award!

Who can nominate?

  • Students and apprentices (both CSP members and non-members) - students and apprentices can also self-nominate
  • All other CSP members
  • University staff
  • CSP staff

Submit a nomination by 9am on Monday 20 September

Student society award

Over the past academic year, has your student-led physio society:

  • involved others
  • made a positive contribution to university life
  • promoted physiotherapy?

If so, submit a nomination

Who can nominate?

  • Students (both CSP members and non-members)  can nominate their university's own society or another university’s society
  • All other CSP members
  • University staff
  • CSP staff

Submit a nomination by 9am on Monday 20 September

    Please note: To qualify, nominees must be CSP members and studying a pre-registration degree (or  have graduated from a pre-reg degree within the past 9 months). The prizes do not cover travel expenses.

    Read about 2020's winners below

    Society award winner:

    Eight nominations were received for five societies. The nominees were shortlisted by members of the CSP's Student Reference Group . 

    RGU Physiotherapy Society, Robert Gordon University

    • Over the year, the society has achieved success by providing short courses such as taping, massage, and pitch-side first aid, cupping, mental health, and various talks with guest speakers     
    • This society has not only done a phenomenal job of cultivating an integrative social atmosphere within their society but gone the extra mile in terms of events, social media presence and academic support for their members. It is evident that they did much planning this year and were successful in growing their society and increasing engagement.
    • The society has initiated various social events such as the trampoline meetup, pub quiz and a charity yoga class as well as CPD sessions for student across all years. 

    Individual student award winner:

    13 nominations were received for nine students. The nominees were shortlisted by members of the CSP's Student Reference Group and will be announced shortly. To follow are summaries of the nominations from the SRG.

    • Chloe Dooley (Cardiff University) has displayed great leadership as seen in her liaisons with different parties, from students to academic staff and beyond. She has provided her society with more structure and, in addition to all of these commitments, has given so much of her private time to volunteer for causes such as a children’s hospital. In addition, Chloe volunteered at Physiotherapy UK and promoted physiotherapy networks on social media. Her impact and passion for the profession can be seen in the respect and regard she holds from her peers and staff, as well as new initiatives like First Steps which she helped head up.

      Read about 2019's winners below

      2019 was the first year of the contribution awards and was a huge success. The winners were announced at Physiotherapy UK in November by the CSP's CEO Karen Middleton, Council Member Rachael Moses and the Student Reference Group (SRG). 

      Society award winner: UEA Physiotherapy Society, University of East Anglia (UEA)

      Over the year the society run the following activities for its members:

      • A scheme to enable qualified students to provide first aid, taping and massage at sports events
      • Peer support sessions on statistics, exam preparation and work placements
      • Fundraising at Norwich half marathon
      • Talks on the management of sports injuries and on British Sign Language
      • Socials across cohorts to enable peer support
      • Stalls at freshers fair and talks for new cohorts
      • Attendance at the CSP’s Society training and at ARC
      • Winning Academic Society of the Year and Student Committee of the Year at the UEA STAR awards!

      From @uea_physiosoc:

      Thank you so much for this award, we are so proud of all the hard work our members put into each event and our student volunteers who make them so worth while! #physiolove

      Individual student award winner: Jessica Powers, Glasgow Caledonian University

      Jessica demonstrated leadership qualities (and her ability to inspire other students) as chair of the 2019 Scottish Physiotherapy Student Conference organising committee, as a member on the CSP Student Reference Group and in her involvement with her university's physio society.

      From @thatJessPowers:

      Thank you @thecspstudents I had an amazing experience serving on the 18/19 SRG, chairing the @spsconf and working with @GCUPhysioSoc on CPD events. Huge learning and growing experiences. It helps when you get to work with awesome humans like I did!  #teamworkmakesthedreamwork


      Last reviewed: