The Chartered Society of Physiotherapy The Chartered Society of Physiotherapy


View your shopping cart.

New Year’s Honours line-up

14 January 2010 - 8:55am

Three CSP members have been acknowledged in the New Year’s Honours list.

Mary Dodd CBE

A CBE goes to Mary Dodd, who recently retired as consultant physiotherapist for cystic fibrosis at Wythenshawe hospital, part of University Hospital of South Manchester trust, while Vanessa Davies, physiotherapist at Morriston hospital's artificial limb and appliance centre in Swansea, receives an MBE. An MBE also goes to CSP student member and world champion gymnast Beth Tweddle.

In 1982, Mary Dodd helped establish the Manchester adult centre, which now cares for 350 patients from across the north west. Her clinically based research includes the role of exercise, effects of nebuliser therapy, cross-infection, oxygen, urinary incontinence and musculoskeletal problems. She became a CSP fellow in 2001 for her work in research and education and in 2006 was awarded an honorary doctorate from Manchester.

Vanessa Davies MBE

Vanessa Davies sits on the executive of the British Association of Chartered Physiotherapists in Amputee Rehabilitation as a regional rep for Wales. Association chair Mary Jane Cole described her as a loyal and supportive committee member.

CSP chair of Council Ann Green said:'On behalf of the CSP we offer our congratulations and are delighted that their contribution to patient care and society has been recognised.'

Also singled out for honour was Mansel Aylward, chairman of the Wales Centre for Health, who receives a knighthood, while OBEs go to Ann Brannagan, complex trauma manager at the Ministry of Defence medical rehabilitation centre at Headley Court, Surrey; Paul Keane, dean of the school of health and social care at Teesside University; Bernardine Rees, recently retired chief executive, Ceredigion and Pembrokeshire local health board and Margaret Reid, professor of women's health, University of Glasgow. Eva Loeffler, vice president of the charity WheelPower, receives an OBE for services to disability sport.

MBEs also go to Jean Atkinson, recently staff-side chair of Unison at Mersey Care trust; Donna Clark, assistant practitioner, podiatry service at Sefton primary care trust; and Charles Bird, general medical practitioner and strategic health adviser to Natural England for his services to healthcare and physical activity.


Comments are visible to CSP members only.

Please Login to read comments and to add your own or register if you have not yet done so.

  • Anonymous

More from the CSP

Back to top