The Chartered Society of Physiotherapy The Chartered Society of Physiotherapy


View your shopping cart.

Stewards shine at annual awards

Mark Raven, a physiotherapist at University Hospitals Birmingham, scooped the top prize at the 2012 CSP Rep of the Year Awards.

The awards, which are in their second year, recognise the work of stewards and reps who have been especially valued and recognised by their peers and colleagues – who nominate the entries.

Chair of council Helena Johnson presented the awards at the annual representative conference reception and dinner, which was held in Manchester on 8 February.

Mr Raven, who was awarded Steward of the Year, was recognised for his dedicated work on the NHS pensions campaign, with colleagues noting his ‘outstanding work on the issue, going above and beyond expectations’.

His nominators also noted the significant personal contribution he has made to the pensions campaign, working to co-ordinate a cohesive reps’ voice on the pensions issue.

The Student Rep of the Year award went to Bev Wardman, a final year student at Leeds Metropolitan University.

Ms Wardman is student rep on the Yorkshire and Humber regional network, north east regional co-ordinator  and chair of the student executive committee.

She was named the ‘clear choice’ as student rep of the year thanks to her dedication to the role, constant promotion of the CSP and her strength in standing up for members.

Other stewards recognised for their achievements were Lauren Woolley, who was runner up in the Steward of the Year category, and Sarah Mallinson and Ruth Manning who took joint third place.

The awards were supported by Thompsons Solicitors.


Comments are visible to CSP members only.

Please Login to read comments and to add your own or register if you have not yet done so.

Back to top