The Chartered Society of Physiotherapy The Chartered Society of Physiotherapy


View your shopping cart.

New Year’s Honours line-up

Three CSP members have been acknowledged in the New Year’s Honours list.

A CBE goes to Mary Dodd, who recently retired as consultant physiotherapist for cystic fibrosis at Wythenshawe hospital, part of University Hospital of South Manchester trust, while Vanessa Davies, physiotherapist at Morriston hospital’s artificial limb and appliance centre in Swansea, receives an MBE.

An MBE also goes to CSP student member and world champion gymnast Beth Tweddle.

In 1982, Mary Dodd helped establish the Manchester adult centre, which now cares for 350 patients from across the north west. Her clinically based research includes the role of exercise, effects of nebuliser therapy, cross-infection, oxygen, urinary incontinence and musculoskeletal problems. She became a CSP fellow in 2001 for her work in research and education and in 2006 was awarded an honorary doctorate from Manchester.

Vanessa Davies sits on the executive of the British Association of Chartered Physiotherapists in Amputee Rehabilitation as a regional rep for Wales. Association chair Mary Jane Cole described her as a loyal and supportive committee member.

CSP chair of Council Ann Green said: ‘On behalf of the CSP we offer our congratulations and are delighted that their contribution to patient care and society has been recognised.’

Further information

A fuller list of individuals to receive honours for services to or linked with healthcare can be found at  (see ‘news’)


Comments are visible to CSP members only.

Please Login to read comments and to add your own or register if you have not yet done so.

Article Information

Issue date

20 January 2010

Volume number


Issue number

Back to top