The Chartered Society of Physiotherapy The Chartered Society of Physiotherapy


View your shopping cart.

Scientific Panel

The Scientific Panel recommends proposals for funding to the CSP Charitable Trust on a yearly basis through the Physiotherapy Research Foundation and Special awards schemes.

Now recruiting ...

The Charitable Trust has four member vacancies on the Scientific Panel, providing the opportunity to work with the CSP in promoting and developing physiotherapy research. The panel is seeking:

  • 1 x Clinician
  • 1 x Clinical Service Manager

The deadline for the two clinical vacancies is Monday 11 September 2017 at noon.

In addition to the above vacancies, the panel is seeking two Scientific Panel Members. Members must be CSP members and we welcome applicants with expertise in:

  • Respiratory conditions
  • Musculoskeletal conditions

The deadline for the two Scientific Panel members is Monday 18 September 2017 at noon.

The term of office is four years and panellists receive travelling and subsistence expenses for attendance at meetings. There are normally two meetings each year in May and November, one of these held over two days. Preparation for meetings is expected, notably reading and assessing outline proposals, main research proposals and reports.

Apply now

If you are interested in becoming a member of the panel, use the link at the foot of the page to access relevant guidance and the application form. Please email your completed form with your CV to Please ensure you tick the role you are applying for. 

CSP Charitable Trust Scientific Panel

Current members of the panel are:



Dr Ian Wellwood

Lecturer in Public Health and Health Services Research

King’s College London

Chair of Panel
Joined Oct 2011

Member of CSP

Professor Helen Dawes 
Oxford Brooks University - Centre for Rehabilitation

University of Ulster

Vice-Chair of Panel

Joined Panel Mar 2013 
Member of CSP

Dr Brenda O'Neill

Senior Lecturer in Physiotherapy

University of Ulster

Joined Panel Nov 2012

Member of CSP

Dr Louise Connell

University of Central Lancashire

Joined Panel Oct 2014

Member of CSP

Dr Cherry Kilbride

Brunel University

Joined Panel Mar 2016

Member of CSP

Dr Victoria Goodwin

Exeter University

Joined Panel Dec 2015

Member of CSP

Dr Michelle Briggs
Leeds Metropolitan University

Manchester Metropolitan University

 Joined Panel Oct 2014
Non-physio member

Dr Victoria Allgar

Senior Lecturer in Medical Statistics

University of York

Joined Panel May 2011


David Britt

Joined Panel December 2016
Service user

Stuart Nixon

Joined Panel December 2016
Service user


More from the CSP

Last reviewed

21 July 2017
Back to top